Home > Uncategorized > Mr. MySQL screwed things up

Mr. MySQL screwed things up

I didn’t receive any comment before my vacation about xgp 1.6 not working. Why? Well that’s a good question I think. According to the stats that version has been downloaded 32 times.
Either no one that downloads it cares if it works, or everyone is afraid of posting a wordpress comment.
As I said from the beginning, I created this app to learn VB.NET more and for my own use, and I choose to share it with everyone because I know that I’m not alone when it comes to using non steam games with Xfire. So technically I don’t care if it works for you or not. I am doing this for fun only and on my free time, which is about 1 hour a day and more on the weekends. And remember, I like to play games too so there goes like half of my free time.

Anyway now to the problem with the current release. As I implemented a new online direct-fetch system for already-made gameprofiles by connecting to a db, MySQL dB to be more precise, it has caused some troubles. I didn’t know that for this to work I needed to either include one more file in the download, or an install file for MySQL connector for the user to install on his/hers computer.
The result is when you start the Manage Games dialog, the gameprofiles box is all white and when you exit it it throws allot of errors.

And as I said I didn’t know it until I tested the app on my brothers computer, because it’s working flawless on my computer and no one said it to me. And that is kind of sad because then I realize that no one is using and/or reading this darn blog. Waste-of-time I say.

So then I decided that either I can include this little file in the download (and also do so it saves the settings in a file in the same folder instead of the local computer AppData making it portable for real). Or I can make the program non-portable and put everything in an installer and maybe later add some functions for auto-updating the app itself and so on.

Which should I choose? Well as I am the only one reading this blog it is useless to wait for an answer so I decided my self to make is installable instead of portable, because really, who needs it portable? Stupid old idea…

I will release a 2.0 version of it as installer and I will test it a hundred times on different computers and OSes before i release it here so I don’t need to release a fix. After that I will put the blog in idle, only updating the program for my self locally and not write here again until I receive some feedback from the outer world because this is time consuming and I got Allot of other things I need to do. When will the version be released then? Well I don’t know. Maybe tomorrow, maybe next year, everything depends on how much time I choose spend on it and if my ideas works well. But I hope it will be out before or around Halloween.

And to the user KSC3O:

I haven’t forgot you. I am glad that you at least showed that you have been trying my app (because you saw that i didn’t got the game Killing Floor). But you has not reported that my latest version doesn’t work either I suppose you aren’t using it anymore. Anyways, thx for writing at my blog.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. TeDDy
    October 13, 2010 at 22:53

    Hi man…tnx for this nice app but I have a problem…I simply don’t know how to use it…I mean, for example, I’m trying to select this auto patch with windows start up option, and after that start up xfire, but whenever i click on ok, error pops up (unhandled exception etc…)…I have windows 7 x64 with installed NET framework 4 so I really don’t have any idea what to do…could you give me some instructions, for example how to detect Fifa 11? 🙂

    • October 15, 2010 at 21:34

      I will release a beta of 2.0 tonight if I can (in 4 hours) and then give instructions to that one. The current version is far to unstable.

    • October 16, 2010 at 23:05

      Due to a lot of other stuff that needs to be done to be able to release beta 1 I postpone the release of it to tomorrow night. Sorry.

    • October 23, 2010 at 23:46

      Well now it’s released, but I can’t see why you have problems detecting FIFA 11?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

